LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

We Are Getting Soaked Thanks to Blipfoto!

Took the girls to Family Day at Perth Racecourse which is set in beautiful grounds near Scone Palace. I enjoy a day at the races and hadn't been for a while but this was the first time I had ever taken my camera with me - inspired by blipfoto!

With most people's attention on the home straight, I took a walk out towards the first fences and hurdles where I took this blip during the 3rd race of the day.

Lee and Robyn had been enjoying the funfair and stalls but by the 4th race I persuaded them to take a walk out towards the hurdles.

In the distance we saw this massive rainstorm...and then realised it was coming straight for us. Within minutes, it was tipping down and the three of us were huddled under a kids umbrella and were soaked through in seconds....but I kept on shooting pics along with a poor press photographer who couldnt' fit under our brolly! Girls were none too pleased....

Lee (wife): 'we are getting soaked all because of blipfoto!!' - there may have been a rude word in there somewhere too.

Robyn (daughter): 'these photos better be good daddy, I am soaking...buy us a carvery dinner with your winnings'.

Bit of a bonus when we finally made it back under cover....the horse we had bet on for that race won at 7/2! However, got a bigger buzz of taking shots of the horses than I did betting on them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.