Layers

After doing some writing this morning, I rewarded myself with a walk around the village, stopping off at the house of some very good friends, sitting with a cold drink in their courtyard and talking about food, growing it, cooking it, eating it, which they're as interested in as I am. The purpose of my call was to give them some of the ice cream I'd made with figs that they gave us, but they're so generous that I wasn't allowed to come away empty-handed, but with a bottle of their home-made vinegar....typical village life here, and one of the many reasons we like living here so much.

The whole village smelled of Provençal tomatoes (baked with garlic, thyme and olive oil), a sure sign that summer is here, and not to feel left out I put some of ours in the oven as soon as I got home so they'll be ready for lunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.