Owl

Deep breath and off to the shops to buy school uniform with one reluctant son and two enthusiastic daughters. Sam refused to leave the car unless it was to buy something specifically for him. Rowan came into every shop, eyes peeled for a bargain and Murron's will to live slowly ebbed until she joined Sam in the car with her copy of Harry Potter. We managed to get most things, although it was sobering to see just how much everything amounted to.

Back home and the sun was shining. The children fled to their rooms and I picked a huge bowlful of strawberries and rustled up a vegetable quiche (much to Murron's horror). Rowan baked some amazing peanut butter and chocolate whoopie pies - most of which were eaten as soon as the filling was spread and the two halves sandwiched together.

This evening I was lucky to see the barn owl from the farm swoop by as I stood by the window. It moved with such purpose and poise. Every time I see it I feel peaceful. A kind of 'everything is alright with the world' feeling - daft I know.

I am going to look upon it as a good omen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.