My Aim is True

By MAiT

Tesco-fication

I really try as much as possible to shop in my local shops rather than supermarkets. And actually it's usually cheaper. Becuase you buy what you need...not what you think you want.

But some foodstuffs can only be bought in the supermarket. Like meat. Because the supermarkets sold meat the half a dozen butchers within two blocks of my house all closed.

I went in to Tesco tonight. There were management types strutting about directing the small army of shelf stackers. There were two security blokes.

So lots of staff.

Oh, and there was no one on the tills. No one. I had to stand in a huge queue at the self-service "express" area. Where there was a 15 year old on duty, checking that everyone buying alcohol looked at least 25.

The other day I went to Waitrose. Ah. Lovely. A very smart chap took me to the exact location of the very goods that I couldn't locate. The woman at the check-out was very friendly. On the way out when I asked a shelf stacker where I could deposit my used battery, he took the battery from me.

Oh. And there's no riff-raff.

In other news, I discovered which company is the world's biggest manufacturer of rubber tyres. What a surprise.

And if you're lucky I may have more interesting facts for you tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.