Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Pocket Cornet

In my blip for last Friday I mentioned ONE item that I saw in Brighton that I was unable to leave behind.

Well, here is that item! I woke up last Friday and knew that I had to go and get it, so I did! I'd tried hard to disuade myself by looking them up on the internet and convincing myself I could find such a cute little instrument elsewhere if I wanted to, but all I did was found this site and became even more convinced I couldn't leave the little fellow behind!

So here he is! He needs a little work to get into playing condition - I think the third valve isn't quite right - the valves have obviously been replaced, but not correctly. I shall investigate when I have a little time. In the meantime, I think this little chap makes a fantastic addition to the instrument collection - the flumpophone's baby cousin - he measures only 24cm from mouthpiece to bell!!!

I wasn't intending to blip him today. Tonight we were supposed to have been at a concert in Lichfield, and were supposed to have been meeting a very lovely friend there too - I had hoped to blip from the concert. Sadly, our energy has run out, and we decided that we simply haven't got any stamina left to go. To drive TO the concert fuelled by Pro-Plus and energy drinks is probably not wise, especially as the Wonderspouse is also exhausted. We calculated that we'd probably not get to bed until around 2 or so, and since the early alarm is back, we really can't manage it on top of all the adventures of last week.

I've been asleep on the sofa nearly all day, and the Wonderspouse says he can hear the tiredness in my voice. Furthermore, I'm starting to forget words - earlier I referred to my camera as the "photo machine" because I couldn't think of the word camera! The Wonderspouse is also shattered after so much activity - he's beginning to forget words too and to look blank when people ask him easy questions!

I think it may be time to slow down a bit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.