Blepharitis and a scar

I should have blipped this yesterday but something happened.

I have been working rather a lot lately. I am the original girl who can't say no and when friends ask if I can locum for them I hear myself saying, 'Erm...actually, nnnnnyes ok.' I knew I was working too much over the past few weeks but last night (today on the blip) I got home really late from Whittlesey. Noah squealed with delight when I walked through the door, ran towards me and then sort of collapsed on the floor in front of me and sobbed his little heart out. He was inconsolable and didn't let go of me all through supper and right up until he dropped off to sleep. So I consider that I've had my wrists slapped a bit and I'll try to practise saying no a bit more often.

Still it's back to normal next week and I'll make it up to my little cling-on. I feel like such a rotten mummy.

Anyway, back to the blip. I only have this camera for one more day...that's today actually...this is yesterday...confused yet?

This is a case of chronic blepharitis. Blepharitis is a common condition. It causes greasy-looking scaling around the base of the eyelashes and is sometimes mistaken for 'sleepy dust' that some people experience on waking. It's often associated with dry eyes (as in this case) and it plays host to Staphylococcus bacteria which, coupled with the dry eye can lead to some particularly nasty cases of conjunctivitis.

It was this poor lady's first visit to the practice. She has had such dry eyes that her cornea ulcerated and she's been left with a large white scar visible in the bottom image at about 7 o'clock. She's also had several cases of conjunctivitis.

We've now instigated a treatment plan for her blepharitis so hopefully that will prevent further conjunctivitis episodes.

I really do apologise for all the eye images but I was determined to trial this camera properly and record how well it did, to see whether it would be good enough for a locum to use regularly. I also though it would make for some out-of-the-ordinary blips. I think I would buy one if my primary work was domiciliary. For me, who works in practices mostly with their own fundus cameras, the outlay wouldn't be worthwhile. It's been terrific fun playing with it though, and I'll be able to give some good feedback to the rep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.