Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

STRIKE...and very nearly a wipe-out!

We visited the House of Marbles today. I love going there as there are so many wonderful colours, shapes and textures to photograph...not to mention a brilliant workshop where you can see the glass being blown. I wandered around happily snapping away.

They have a great outdoor area with children's games in the restaurant courtyard. Watching my son play skittles I had a good idea for a shot...well it seemed like a good idea at the time.

I lay down at the end of the run and focussed on the skittles then asked him to bowl. Why the obvious flaw in this plan escaped me I don't know. The first ball whistled past my ear but no skittles fell. The second nearly took out me and my camera...I had skittles flying but no ball. Again and again we tried...me risking a black eye and worse still a shattered Canon and finally we got the shot I wanted. Then I looked up and saw I'd gathered a little crowd of interested observers.

'Are you a photographer?' one of them asked.
'Yes I am,' I replied airily...hoping I looked more confident than I felt (I know the 'professional' bit was implied in their question but I wasn't really telling fibs because I was taking photos <grin>). Anyway, the bluff worked...they returned to their seats and left me alone. 'I thought she was a real photographer (?!) ,' said the lady who's asked the question, 'She was taking photos of some weird things in there...'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.