earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Inflorescence

I've been looking forward to arriving here since Monday. Finished the week with almost all issues sorted and now hope to wake up into a morning that won't be bringing any nasty surprises. It's going to be mostly a working weekend, but without the pressure of having to respond to live issues. It's ok because I'm going to be on holiday from Wednesday through Sunday. It will be the first time I've blipped from further away than a cycle ride from home.

I present yet another grass blip today, taken on my ride to work this morning, on the road between Ilkley and Burley Woodhead. It continues to amaze me how beautiful these grasses are. I grow to be more aware of them all the time as I cycle along past the hedgerows of my local lanes. This little stem of seed heads was as delicate and as colourful as any I have seen all summer. It almost struck me as being a different species the colour was that intense. To get this shot, however, I had to break a little unwritten rule of mine!

I had no idea what I was doing when I started blipping, or where it would go, but over the last couple of months it has become about capturing something of the world which I inhabit, a combination of observation and interpretation. I've had a rule not to interfere with what I notice to blip. I'm happy to do a bit of processing to make the image more striking or better capture the feeling associated with it, but I've not wanted to stage anything. I really wanted to get a good shot of this grass but it was so delicate (the stems are incredibly thin for the weight they bear) that it swayed in the merest puff of breeze. The only thing I could do was to gently tether it to the stem beside where it was growing. I thought that wasn't too much of an intervention! I hope you agree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.