While on my runs

By waipushrink

Waiting for the door to be opened

A slow start to the day for me. Headed off on my run after the official dawn, and made my way down to Viaduct Harbour, scene of the America's Cup yachts during the two challenges held in Auckland.

The Viaduct referred to a bridge that was able to be raised and lowered over the entrance to the fishing fleet harbour, which used to be in this area. It was run down, smelly and had few public facilities until all the money associated with the rich big boy's game of America's Cup came to Auckland. It is now a very pleasant area, and I will show some of it in later blips, perhaps.

Just before I got to the Viaduct, I went past this City Council work store. Mowers, street sweepers, and such like are kept behind the corrugated iron doors. Two workmen are standing outside their tea room (no longer a smoko room as they cannot smoke inside, as can be seen with the man on the left holding his cigarette). My guess is that they are soon to start work.

I was really taken with the image of a painted man struggling (without any hope of success) to open the doors, while those who should be able to open it, stand, smoke and wait. Perhaps they are enjoying the lack of fragrance from the painted window boxes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.