While on my runs

By waipushrink

Sunstrike

When I got up this morning it was cold with a whining wind echoing in the atrium of our apartment building. Squalls of rain. Still dark. So I sat and sorted various things I tend to put off. When it was almost sunrise it had stopped raining. As I only had to deal with cold and wind, I went for my run.

The attentions yesterday of the physiotherapist have eased the tightness in my left calf muscle, so I was well able to do my mix of walk and run with only a little discomfort. Halfway through the half hour, the sun was just above the horizon and the clouds behind the Sky Tower were gently tinged. The "needle" (as it has been termed by one viewer of previous blips I have made) looked okay, but repetitious.

As I arrived back at the front of the apartment building, the sun was emerging from behind the commercial block and beginning the dazzling of drivers heading into the city. Only a few in this picture, but given that it was almost 0800 am, this piece of road was soon to be cars etc nose to bumper. The sun would be directly in the eyes of the drivers, and low enough to negate the benefits of sun visors.

I like this picture, as a representation of a winter's morning in Auckland, where the sun briefly dominates the clouds and the rain. We apparently should expect a week or two of gentler and warmer winds, with less rain. I'll still wear the gloves; not yet into the long sleeves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.