Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

That Which We Call a Rose

"What's in a name? That which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet."


- Juliet, in Romeo and Juliet, by William Shakespeare

Today I pruned the roses. One bush however was a bit, shall we say, premature, and had already thrown up this utterly gorgeous red bloom. With the remnants of the morning's rain on it, I thought it looked rather special, and lugged my tripod outside to make sure I got the cleanest shot I could.

I took three shots, but the first was the best (which pleases me) 8) I then used Photogene on my iPad to sharpen it a bit (including widening the sharpen radius quite a bit - while I don't really understand that yet, it seemed to work well), and added a slight S curve.

And no, I didn't prune this rose off ;-)

And here it is large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.