PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Today's the Day


Today's the day I've chosen not to write.
I'll decorate the house. I'll cut the grass.
All my pens are tidied out of sight
In case this phase of abstinence should pass.

I'll decorate the house. I'll cut the grass.
I'll do what other wives and mothers do.
Before this phase of abstinence should pass
Perhaps I'll bake a cake or cook a stew.

I'll do what other wives and mothers do.
The basketful of ironing will get done.
Perhaps I'll bake a cake or cook a stew.
Keeping house is really rather fun.

The basketful of ironing will get done.
It gives me time to meditate and think.
Keeping house is really rather fun.
It's quite creative polishing a sink.

It gives me time to meditate and think
Of all the things that I might write about.
It's quite creative polishing a sink.
Housework has its moments, there's no doubt.

Of all the things that I might write about
Domestic chores are low down on the list,
But housework has its moment, there's no doubt
A vacuum cleaner has poetic grist.

Domestic chores are low down on the list.
Yet, today's the day I've chosen not to write
'A vacuum cleaner has poetic grist'.
And all my pens are tidied out of sight.

poem © Celia Warren 2011

It's another rainy day so I decided to create an illlustration to this poem (a 'pantoum') that I actually wrote some years ago. Can you tell I'd rather be writing than doing housework? :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.