Samphire ...

"Samphire long and green" ...


This is what the Samphire Man used to say every year when he used to come round with samphire on his cart drawn by his horse, but he died a couple of years ago.

Eric, myself and the boys love it, we have it soaked in vinegar and pepper along with bread and butter, it is full of vitamins and goodness, it may not look appealing but it is so yummy.

The sapmhire man used to also collect the watercress from my Grandparents streams years and years ago when they lived in East Walton in a farmhouse. he always used to tell me wonderful stories about my grandparents ... I do miss his stories.


I and others alike in Kings Lynn miss him this time of the year.

You will always be remembered Samphire Man.

Tracey xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.