earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Reflecting an Industrial Past

I had to work very late at the office tonight so it was unusual to catch some low sunlight on the canal while walking to the station. It's good to be reminded that this area where I work near Saltaire was close to the epicentre of the industrial revolution. These three chimneys stood above engine houses which powered the machinery that created the world as we know it. Quite astonishing really. And this reflection surely cannot have changed a bit since that time. I wonder how many people over the years have paused and looked at this same view?

To provide a bit of context, the chimney on the right is the largest and featured in Painting Clouds, while the one in the middle featured in Exterminating Clouds. The one on the left here is the smallest and sits pretty much right above the office where I work. I'm sure this will also feature in a blip before too long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.