Jon's Page

By Jon_Davey

Will soon be gone

Having hung around in a derelict state, the demolition work at Fountain Brewery has speeded up again since I last went past a couple of months ago (on my tour of Edinburgh Central polling places on election day in May). There won't be very much left soon - a flattened site like the old canning and bottling line site on the other side of Viewforth. Strange to think that all that industry will be wiped away, and presumably replaced by more flats, like the old keg lines and warehousing that used to be on the other side of Fountainbridge. The different parts of the brewery that I wrote computer systems for during my time with S&N - among others the logistics control system, the warehouse system, the materials planning system (effectively the brewing recipes) were all things I worked on. Seems a long time ago. As I have said elsewhere, a shame that camera technology back them meant a trip to the brewery was not something you captured on a pocket camera or a phone - would have been some great pictures!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.