First try

So during the summer, the sun doesn't set until after 9pm. Most days my husband is at work in the evening, and I'm home with my boys. This means no opportunity for lovely sunset images. One of my favorite techniques to experiment with is long exposure, and if the sun isn't down, I'm not going to be able to do any long exposure stuff all summer long.

Determined to fix that problem, I invested in a B+W #110 neutral density filter. So now it can be noon, and I can do long exposure stuff. Sweetness.

Anyways, I stopped off on my way home tonight to see what I could manage with my new filter. It took a heck of a lot longer to process my image than usual, but I'll get the hang of it. This is two images (one for sky and one for water) blended in Photoshop. I had to clone out some dust spots from my dirty sensor and some oddities in the water. It also throws a bit of a reddish/purple tone, which is okay for this image, but not a true representation of what I saw.

I'm happy to have something new to mess around with this summer and hoping the tide is out a bit more next time. Time for some action on the Wii with the boys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.