Kayaks in Maine

We drove from Massachusetts this afternoon to southern Maine (near Hiram), to spend a few days with an old friend. She has a cabin on a small lake, where I blipped these kayaks--I expect to paddle out with the yellow one at dawn tomorrow in search of the resident family of common loons (they have one chick).

Close by are houses belonging to her three siblings, who all spend much of the summer here. This evening we all gathered for a lobster dinner (up to two lobsters per person) at one of her sister's houses.

Six years ago my wife and I spent a week here; I kayaked out every morning to photograph the loons. It was a magical week--the loons and the weather cooperated marvelously, with incredible results. Afterwards I gave the family CDs with the loon images, which they still remember vividly. This is the first time I'd returned, and I was greeted as a conquering hero :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.