air and kilometers

By brittanielynn

worth the wait

20/365
I am living proof that it is very important and worthwhile to wait patiently until the right, no perfect, thing comes your way. The only exception to this rule thus far is my job; I kind of jumped on that one as soon as it was offered and I've been working there for 2+ years now. It's, how should I say this? Less than desirable at times. But it is a stepping stone and an incredibly astute learning experience and it has really strengthened me as a person. So, maybe employment is what i consider the exception to the rule. I accept donations for my insightful tangents, thanks very much.

Anyway getting to the point, things on my wait patiently and do not settle whatsoever list:
True love
Best friends
A reliable vehicle
My wedding gown

Stephen is proof to me that true love can happen to anyone who earnestly seeks it and never settles.

Today's excursion with Christy and Amy proved to me that solid friendships can withstand the test of time and completely different circumstance.

This train from a wedding gown that I tried on yesterday proved that while there is great out there, ready and waiting to be settled on, there is also the BEST. This dress was the first of the day that I tried on and I grew attached to it because of how pretty it was. Because I was unwilling to believe that there was anything better than this dress out there I told myself that I'd have to settle for this train that you see here. Beautiful? Yes. Ornate? Definitely. Traditional? You bet. Perfect for me? Nope.

I was wrong to think that nothing else would cross my path. The next boutique had a dress that had even more wow factor, but my gut told me to be patient and wait it out.

My instincts were right, because later that day, by chance, I found my perfect dress, just when I wasn't even looking. We were in a completely different store looking ONLY for bridesmaid dresses and I didn't have any energy to even try another dress on. Until I laid eyes on MY DRESS. My best friends convinced me to try it on, and it blew me away and continues to blow me away everytime I look at pictures. I'm completely won over. I love everything about it. Especially the train.

I'll have you know, even though I completely fell in love with that final dress, I exercised restraint and didn't buy it yesterday. Don't worry, I'll be back for it! I'm just growing my patience and making a statement to myself that the best is worth waiting for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.