Darrell K Morris

By darrellkmorris

Essential Reading

9.05 p.m. My Flat, Brockley, South East London.

Sadly, there seems to be only one story on the lips of people today and that naturally is there the Murdoch's graciously turned up to the Hackgate. So, naturally this would be the day (again) to bury bad news. I apologise for the quality of the photo, but I believe for once the story outweighs the image itself.

As I made my way to work this morning, still in a post festival comedown, I checked twitter and found this article by Amelia Gentleman which tells the heartbreaking stories of residents at the Whitehall Residential Care Centre in Haringey, North London.

As my train pulled into London Bridge I began to read, headphones in place as usual to block out the world around me. I paused briefly to get onto my next train to Charing Cross and started again. As I read the first hand accounts of elderly parents fears for their severely disabled children, I became angry at what our country has become. I read on, tears starting to well up in my eyes. As I arrived at Charing Cross, I ripped the headphones out of my ears, put the phone in my pocket and made my out of the station. I rushed across the road and into the churchyard of St-Martins-In-The-Field where despite already being late for work, I sat down and continued reading. My anger subsided, but instead now I just felt hollow inside. I quickly replied to the ever wonderful Matt Leys who has long championed the NHS through twitter, as well as being one of the funniest people and constant critic of this government (if you are on twitter, please do follow him)

Sadly, as i write this Haringey council may be voting to on the very futures of the people in this article. I hope for once we may instead have a happy ending.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.