Red

By Red

I remember when this was all fields

Because of the roadworks at the end of the A1, I've been trying different ways to get into Edinburgh. Today's ridiculously hopeful route took me so close to where I used to live, that I was overcome by the urge to drive down my old street.

Inveresk is a little village that's really part of Musselburgh. When we moved away from there about five years ago, the council had sold the land around Wedderburn House (previously an orphanage) for redevelopment. As it was right at the end of our old street, I've often wondered how it turned out.

Today I was amazed to see how many houses they'd squeezed onto the old playing fields. And I'm sure the Victorians would be flattered to see that we couldn't improve on their architecture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.