The Days of My Life

By professorgirl

Professor PawPaw

My PawPaw is the most brilliant person I've ever known. He's also the least formally-educated. Formal education is my life; I have a graduate degree and work as a college professor. However, the lessons I learned from PawPaw are what guide my life. The most important: if you don't know how to do something, figure it out. Other lessons I live by: if it's broken, fix it; if you need something, build it.
PawPaw was a carpenter by trade and by hobby. I, too, have the itch to build and create. My first project was building the table in this photo. I didn't have a clue what I was doing, but as you can see, I figured it out. Just like my PawPaw would have.
He died two days ago. His blood flows through my veins though it no longer flows through his.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.