The Days of My Life

By professorgirl

A Ritualistic Routine

I spend the first part of my day, every day, with the Columbus Dispatch. I relish reading the newspaper's articles and then working to solve its word puzzles: Crossword (two of them!), Jumble, Cryptoquote. On Sunday, with its super-sized paper, I spend several languid hours making my way through each page. A self-professed "word nerd," I take the puzzles seriously. As you can see from the picture, I carefully fold the paper and precisely position it onto a clipboard, which I have solely for this purpose. The clipboard is accompanied by a cutesy, always-sharpened pencil--one that I've selected after testing and rejecting many others. Although it is a daily occurrence, this part of my day feels more ritual than routine. What is the difference between the two--that I enjoy it, that I thoughtfully and deliberately make my way through it? I'm not sure; I'd love to hear your thoughts on ritual vs. routine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.