thespotlightkid

By thespotlightkid

People Power

The space underneath the Purcell Room was 'plagued' for decades by young people with skates, boards etc. The authorities' solution: give it to them. They've turned it into a fun place where people strolling along the South Bank stop to watch and enjoy.

Just next to this outside the National Film Theatre a crowd was gathering beside a cordoned-off area as if a celebrity was expected. I later learned it was for the European premiere of the film Horrible bosses starring Jennifer Aniston, Charie Day, Kevin Spacey, Jamie Foxx and others. If I'd loitered I might have blipped Jennifer!

I made a quick visit to Tate Modern, where I made two exciting discoveries: (1) they let you take photos (2) I don't hate everything. But I still don't like the way they arrange things by theme instead of by date, or by movement, or even by colour.

Also a third exciting discovery above the escalators - there's a simplified history of 20th century art movements and key figures, which almost makes up for the lack of chronology in the displays. Here's part of the History of Art.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.