Channel

By stephenfr

coping with cloudiness

It really doesn't surprise me that it was cloudy and dismal while sitting on the beach today--where I went on my day off. What really gets me annoyed, though, is that before I left and along the ride it was sunny and bright. And when I left and hit the highway again, the sun also came right back out. Is there a beach curse set on me that when I try to go to the beach it is always cloudy somehow!? For what it was, me and my fiancé salvaged what we could and made it into a positive experience. Still, we were so grumpy with the turnout of the weather. It became a little cool to go in the ocean, so we didn't do that. I just rested and fell into a couple light periods of dreaming and Brittanie, I think, read. Intermittently, I also picked up pebbles from the sand and tossed them at her or just annoyingly placed them on her stomach. Yeah, it wasn't a very exciting experience at all, but we chose to make the best of what we had.

As a tradition, we grabbed some ice cream before we left and then headed back north. Brittanie slept (and drooled) on my shoulder the entire way back! We then made a night out of going to the mall and then to IKEA. We really did make the best of the night and it was altogether a lovely evening! We thought about how we are going to design our house once we finally join our lives together. We sat on couches to find the most comfortable fit. We discussed the bold colors we want to have in our rooms. There isn't anything more exciting than finally getting to settle down in an apartment together--just under a year away!

Though it was the second consecutive cloudy beach day we had, just having the togetherness made up for any weather predicaments. Recovering from plans going awry and still making something equally enjoyable is a good quality to have in a relationship. It makes me comforted that even in the most difficult of life, we can not only handle the problem, but fix, or, at least, alter, the situation for the better. We find our sunny days in just our connection and I am so thankful for that. We never stopped enjoying each other's company--it was constant loving and laughing, meaningful interaction.

Believe me, there are plenty of things to be frustrated about with in life, but there are so many other things that far exceed the negativity with which we must face. Sometimes, simply having a best friend asleep next to you on your arm while maneuvering Garden State Parkway shenanigans can be enough to realize the beauty of life!

Or, when that friend points out the sunburn you got on the cloudy, sunless day at the beach--a complete injustice--you can shake your head and just laugh, instead of grumble, at the sometimes unfortunate outcomes in life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.