Frontier

By Frontier

Hey Now

"I hitched a ride with my soul at the side of the road..."

I've recently been listening to Oasis again. Influenced by my friends who recently sang their songs at a party, I was reminiscing about old times. I got a bit of crap from people for liking them a lot when I was growing up. I used to read books and collect their singles, I was that into them. I would listen to them all the time. Even though they weren't the most liked band in Australia I felt really happy. They motivated me to play guitar and live in England for a while, to which I would sing with my friends there on many a happy and drunken occasion. Live Forever, Acquiesce, Rocking Chair, Don't Go Away, etc. were songs that I sing, strangely, with my friends overseas but not in Australia. I even sing their songs in Japan, a less likely country than Australia. Oh well, that's what happens.

I still listen to and buy their CDs, even Beady Eye, and still prefer listening to their earlier stuff. I'm still going to buy Noel Gallagher's new CD when it eventually comes out, but I'm still expecting music that won't really mean much to me. Beady Eye's album was really good, but I don't listen to it over and over compared to (What's the Story?) Morning Glory. Perhaps it was a new producer that changed their sound because I personally don't think they got any better after Be Here Now. I loved that album.

All this talk about Oasis is really enjoyable, but somehow I don't see it going anywhere past armchair banter. Whether you like it or not, much less any other band, it doesn't really matter. They exist. Some people get so heated about a band that, although awesome that they're passionate about them, it's rather sad. Especially if it resorts to fights or death threats.

Rebecca Black for example, her song Friday, as far as I'm concerned, sucks. I think most people feel that way, however, in her defence, some people actually like it. In that regard it shouldn't matter about the quality of the music (quality within my parameters anyway), because it's music. I don't listen to Enka, or German pops but some people go crazy over it. That's great. In any corner of the world there is a place for everyone, but what's beautiful is that people are living and enjoying music. Full stop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.