Plus ça change...

By SooB

Choices

Lots of choices for the blip of the day. Sunrise over tropical islands? My son chasing vultures along a parapet? The kids covered in chocolate ice cream in celebration of my birthday (still not sure why I didn't qualify for one). But in the end interest wins over beauty or chocolate sometimes.

This is part of a ruined building in Casco Viejo, Panama's old town. It's been ruined for centuries and the fact that this flat arch stayed up for centuries sufficiently proved to the Americans that there were no earthquakes here, that they built the canal here instead of in Nicaragua. (At least that's what we're told. I'm sure the fact that the French had already invested millions in the canal had nothing to do with it....) Nice story though.

My birthday today. I woke in paradise, was bitten by a million (I'm actually not exaggerating) sand flies, flew on a scarily small plane*, saw Panama City, the Canal and even had a rare night out without the kids! Big day.

*Big news for a claustrophobic control freak who's scared of heights and flying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.