Bristolwood and Beyond

By bristolwood

Great Spangled Fritillary

We got up early to do some running around today...our weather in the northeastern United States has gone wild. It is hot, humid, and actually, dangerous. All the news shows are warning folks to stay inside in air conditioning and avoid going outside unless necessary. Today, the thermometer on our front porch soared to about 96 degrees, Fahrenheit. According to the thermometer, that is close to 40 degrees, Celsius. We live in the woods, surrounded by trees, so I cannot imagine what that thermometer would have registered in a less protected environment!

My Butterfly Bushes have just begun to bloom and I have been disappointed by the lack of butterflies coming to it. Today, however, as Husband backed the car up when we got home, I spotted a butterfly on the bush. I quickly hopped out of the car, camera ready, and caught this Great Spangled Fritillary enjoying the bush.

Sadly, my DOF was very shallow and I was unable to get a good clear shot of the butterfly with its wings open. Truthfully, with it this hot, I was happy just to get an outdoor photo! The family enjoyed a couple of hours out in the pool, along with Angus while Murphy and I retreated to the air conditioned camper where we just rested...amazing how the heat can absolutely drain all energy from one's body!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.