michigan man

By outdoorguy

Hot Ducks

When you go under water...do you keep your eyes open, or do you have to close them? I found out today that ducks keep their eyes open. If you DO have to close your eyes...I hope you don't have to "clothespin" your nose. One of the ducks I was watching today had to take one of his webbed feet, and attempt to cover the breathing holes in his beak. Embarrassing...and not true.

I thought of three reasons why the ducks do this dipping and head-diving.

1. As I mentioned before...I think the "good stuff" is right there under the surface. The good green sea-weed, the good green water plants, and the freshest algae. Yum.

2. When my dad and I used to go waterfalling, we used to try to get into any of the falls that we could. In a handful of the falls...you could back up, and with considerable effort...position yourself right underneath the drop...and just get the best water massage on your head and neck. INVIGORATING!! (Especially if the water was cold.) Perhaps the duck is dipping her head to get a nice massage on her head and neck.

3. (Not a complaint)...It was hot today. My usually reliable digital thermometer hit 100. It was our first triple digit reading since 1995. The ducks must get hot, too. I just bet a dip of the head into the water is refreshing.

You can pick any of the three reasons.

Speaking of waterfalls...I just watched the national news, and 3 people went over Vernal Falls in Yosemite National Park. My dad and I passed these falls on the way to climbing Half-dome, a mountain in the park. The signs leading up to these falls are pretty blunt. The sign reads...PLEASE DO NOT SWIM IN THIS AREA. IF YOU GO OVER THESE FALLS...YOU WILL DIE. The 3 friends went over the falls, and they died. I guess they climbed over the barriers to get a better picture. A guy went in, a second guy tried to save him, and a female went in to try to save them both. Sad, sad, sad...but also stupid.

I like to think that when we used to get into waterfalls that we used a little common sense. The rivers in Yosemite are swollen with the excessive snow-melt. If and when you see that kind of current...it should just scream DANGER to you, and you have to keep your distance. Stay away from the water. 3 young lives snuffed out because they didn't think. Tragic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.