michigan man

By outdoorguy

New Fly

An old wise friend of mine used to say this to men who were having trouble finding the "right" girl. "The problem of you waiting for the "perfect" woman...is that she is looking for the "perfect" man." Therein lies the dilemna. With an advance apology to my wife... neither one of those exist. Perfection will never be reached.

I think that's one of the problems amateur photographers have. No matter how many pictures I take of dragonflies, ducks. geese, pelicans, or scenery...I'm always looking for that "perfect" picture. And...just like the man and the woman...it probably doesn't exist. But...we keep trying.

I was mildly excited to see this new dragonfly. I didn't jump up and down, and I didn't yell "Whoo-hoo", but again...mildly excited.

I took my usual 10 minute fruitless trip to Google. Google took me to Wiki-pedia and beyond. I saw a lot of pretty pictures of dragonflies, but I didn't see any that resembled my new find. Again I have to plead ignorance. The pleading part is not that bad. People get used to it. As long as they don't call me IG-NOR-AMOS.

It is the first fly that I've seen that didn't have the transparent wings. Its tiny wings were as dark as could be. The blues of the body and head made me want to think of a new color. I don't think Crayola has something like that.

He landed on 3 different branches while I was snapping away. He was an excellent model and poser. He waited and waited. With the way he was spreading his wings, and working his "blues"...perhaps he was waiting for the "perfect" little blue dragonfly-ette to come along. That might even get a "WHOOO-HOO!!! out of me. Maybe even a cart-wheel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.