Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

The Hepworth Gallery, Wakefield

I dropped two prints off at The Art House this morning to go into the members exhibition so I thought I'd take the opportunity to visit the new Hepworth Gallery which was designed by architect David Chipperfield. The exterior of the building is causing a little controversy as many people don't like it but I think I do - it quite suits its location and has echoes of the old un-restored corn warehouse across the river. The interior gallery space is a series of large box shaped rooms which allow work to be displayed to great advantage. I think this was my favourite gallery and one of the few interior rooms where it was permitted to take photos.

I'm very fond of the area around the river, which was my favourite place for taking children when I ran the Urban Studies Centre. It's now a very interesting mix of old and new. The original Calder & Hebble Navigation Warehouse has recently been restored and next door is a new residential block of flats. When I used to take children to explore this area a prefabricated warehouse stood on this site. I must look out some of my old print photographs and compare the changes.

At least I could still recognise this part of Wakefield, the area where the Art House now stands is changed, almost beyond recognition, and unfortunately much of it is occupied by empty and expensive looking office buildings. I wonder how long it will be before they are let to tenants?

Still it was a good journey back. I've hardly been in the city since I stopped working there five years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.