Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

I've been working like a dog...

... Well, like a fairly laid-back kind of pooch if I'm honest. Even so, I'm glad the weekend is upon us. I intend to sleep like a log.

But before I get too relaxed I'd better attend to the matter in hand.

Almost inevitably, Liverpool has a boutique hotel called A Hard Day's Night, located just around the corner from the Cavern Club. I've never had cause to go inside but apparently it's, er, fab!

Here's a picture of the lovely shiny plaque at the entrance which features the hotel logo - the famous, instantly recognisable, G7sus4 chord at the start of the eponymous song.

I say 'instantly recognisable' - and it may well be to most of us mere mortals when we hear it - but debate still rages amongst musicologists as to what it actually is. George Harrison, who should know if anybody ever did, claimed it was an Fadd9, which is subtly different to the chord shown here. Look them both up in a list of guitar tabs if you're ever at a sufficiently loose end!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.