Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Oyez! Oyez!

I went over to Chester today for lunch with my friend E - I haven't seen her for far too long so it was good to catch up with her and to dine al fresco at a gastro bistro (so many words ending in o!)

While there I also went to see a new exhibition of Bob Dylan's art. Limited edition prints, signed by the artist, selling for £1750 apiece. Way beyond my budget I'm afraid but I did invest in a copy of the exhibition brochure for a more manageable £10! If you're interested you can see the pictures here.

Chester is a Roman walled city on the English side of the border with Wales and it is said that under a Tudor law it is illegal for Welsh people to enter the city after nightfall and legal to shoot them with a bow and arrow within the city walls if they are found there after midnight. I would strongly advise against doing this.

Here's the Town Crier giving it his all at the High Cross, the site of proclamations since the Middle Ages. It was here in 1646 that king Charles 1 was declared a traitor.

In the background you can see a section of the famous 'rows' dating from medieval times and modified ever since. The rows are essentially an early shopping mall consisting of double decker shops with covered walkways - apparently not seen anywhere else in the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.