Scattered Polaroids

By sp

The keys arrived at 9am.

There were two of them, one silver and one gold. They were unlabelled, and in a plain brown envelope. No instructions or clues as to their use, but I knew.

The time had come.

I set off alone. The sun beamed down but I barely noticed. An old lady waiting for her bus smiled at me; I stared resolutely at the ground, watching the ribbon of tarmac lead me further and further away from home.

Eventually, I arrived. I let myself in, using one key and then the other, my heart pounding in my chest. Inside was silence.

Emptiness.
Outside the day was warm, but inside there was a distinct chill.

I tentatively made my way down the passageway, my fingers brushing the cold wall. I came to a door and slowly reached out to turn the handle...















Then I took a reading from my boyfriend's electricity meter and texted it to him.
Phwoar.
It's been such a stressful day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.