My Angle

By myangle

And here's one I made earlier

After my efforts last week bending hot steel at my mates place I decided to have a go myself. Unfortunately I couldn't get quite enough heat on my first attempt. Undaunted I went to the local steel merchant and bought $10 worth of plate steel to make a small furnace.

Here it is. Air goes in at the bottom, and at the top there is a cast iron brake drum which can withstand 2000 deg/c of heat. The body is made of my scrap metal which is 4mm plate. It should be able to withstand the heat.

It isn't quite finished. I need to weld a few more bits on to seal up the cracks. By the way, the "wings" are for tool placement. A base will give it stability so I had better consider that too. Also I will have to find some sort of blower to force air up through the base.

Tomorrow I will give it a blast and see how much heat it generates.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.