Jon's Page

By Jon_Davey

It's what happens

when you are looking for the blip of the day. Walking across the centre of town this lunchtime I thought I'd take the lower path across from Princes Street to the foot of the Playfair Steps and grab a quick shot of the memorial to the those from the Lothians and Fife who went to fight for the International Brigrade in the Spanish Civil War. It's a simply memorial, but an interesting historical link. And I did take my picture, but then turned round and saw something I thought was so much better.
Which is this.
The summer sunshine through the trees.
Not in the depths of the forest, but within sound of the one o'clock gun in the heart of Edinburgh. A simple, peaceful image, better suited to a day when we are all thinking of the people of Norway and the victims of yesterday's atrocity. There is light, even in the shade.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.