Kinda Before Horrigans

By horrigansbefore

Potato gold...

My littlest, harvesting some of our potatoes and taking them back up to the house in his truck.

Not a great deal of processing went into this really. Partly because I'm too tired, but also because I didn't really want to do very much with it.

Anyway, there were a couple of bits... and it's mainly to do with the lighting. If you see this one, the potatoes are fairly dull and the edges are quite bright. So, in Photoshop I did a couple of things. Firstly, I duplicated the background layer. Then, I used the lighting effects (under Filters and Render) to brighten the bits I wanted. You just choose an 'omni' style light (the spotlight one is fine if you want light to come from a particular direction), position where you want the light to be and widen the circumference / adjust the brightness of it to suit. Then, apply. Duplicate the layer again. Set one layer to a blend mode of lighten and the other to darken. Then, just tweaked the opacity of the lightened layer so that it didn't look too artifical. Flattened all the layers, sharpened the edges a wee bit. And that was it.

Lighting effects are brilliant if you want to emphasise certain bits of your image and the natural light is nearly but not quite where you want it to be.

Anyway, finished article is on my Kinda Horrigans' journal!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.