Me and Max

By grete

Days of Mourning

I wake up in the morning now, thinking - what a nightmare....
Then I know it is no nightmare, but reality.
I go to bed at night now, thinking - why did I watch that film of terror?
Then I know it is no film, but reality.
Throughout the day I get flashes of buildings in ruins.
At the same time I know it is not my imagination.
Throughout the day I see kids running for their lives, hiding among their dead friends, pretending to be dead themselves. Boys and girls jumping into the water, trying to escape an island where evil is acted out.

My heart bleeds constantly. All the young people at Utøya. All the men and women that will never come home from work.

Oslo is in deep mourning.
Norway is in deep mourning.
The World is in deep mourning.

For we know it is humanly possible to do the inhumane.

This is my 200th blip.
How curious that at my 100th I should be praising the internet - for what it can do to peace.
Now I am more aware than ever that virtual communication and social media are also arenas for the opposite.

My thoughts and prayers go to all the people in mourning.

And to the places where people connect - the internet and elsewhere -
May we all discover we are one.


(This is outside Oslo Cathedral, where national mourning is taking place. The sea of flowers is growing by the minute, I saw people all over town with flowers in their hands.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.