Channel

By stephenfr

particular

On these hot summer days, I find that I eat pretty minimally just because I have no appetite. What about the warm weather does that to me? At work today they baked macaroni and cheese which was pitiful compared to how Brittanie and I make it (but who am I to complain that I get a free lunch everyday!?). That was all I ate besides some chips until tonight when I decided, since it was nearing midnight, that eating at least something is important. Something small is what I had: a cup-a-soup. I put the teapot on and waited for the whistle. (Watching it reminded me of myself sweating as the water was starting vaporize and boil). Hopefully that'll sustain me throughout the night.

Have I mentioned the obsession the residents where I work have about curly hair? It becomes a bit creepy sometimes when the older ladies have said things to me before like I want your hair! or address me by saying hey, curly boy! which makes me feel a bit strange that these ladies practically salivate for curls, my curls, more specifically. As I brought somebody back to their room, a near 100 year-old lady said to me, how come you get to have the curly hair and I don't?!! as if i am not deserving of my own hair! She proceeded to ask if I got my hair even a little bit permed. Nope, I just wake up with it and that's about the extent of it. Kind of like my beard, which ALL of the older ladies abhor and I have gotten some pretty serious demands to shave from them! Weird. I'm half beautiful and half hideous in their eyes!

I think it's something everyone does, though. Like with this summertime, people know full well what it entails yet they crave it desperately in the colder months. When it arrives, the heat is griped about because it is not to their exact liking--it's too hot, too humid. We want things tailored exactly to our wants. We look at people and in one instance see everything so beautiful but can point out the flaws so easily that don't match to the mind's idea of perfection.

I am rambling now. Let me end this.

-SFR

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.