Channel

By stephenfr

impending

The whole day I wrestled with an impending deadline of quizzes I had to take for my summer class. Literally, the entire free Saturday I had I spent in Brittanie's apartment sadly reading, listening to lectures and taking quizzes. Brittanie, who was supposed to be working hard on the schoolwork of her own, decided she didn't want to do work that day! She, instead, guilted me about wasting our free Saturday! It was so frustrating because it was the least thing I wanted to do that day! The hours of the day sped right on by and I finished the work, but then there was an impending party we needed to go to for my Aunt Karen's 50th birthday! Ugh! It was so annoying that obligations got in the way of our chances to be together on the last Saturday before Brittanie goes to camp!

We made our way to the party fairly late when everything was being cleaned up. But it was a good time because we didn't have to mingle with people we didn't really want to (except for two who just wanted to talk about comparing proposals). My Uncle Jay showed us a wall of a family quilt, a legacy of years and memories of times past. Each section of the quilt told a unique story and Uncle Jay was willing to whimsically blather about each one! It was interesting to see all of the memories posted so prominently and decoratively along a bare wall in their house! What a day! Woo.

-SFR

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.