Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

Far Reaching

The things we say and do are far reaching. No matter how small and insignificant we feel. When we remain transparent and honest, people listen even when they don't agree. Well, at least some people do.

So, the day started with me reminding myself still/again that it does no good at all for me to carry tension in my tongue. Some people carry it in their shoulders, their necks, their jaw. Well, I have a bit in those places, but the majority of my tension is focused on my tongue. Early today, I was already reminding myself that relaxing it would not be detrimental to my success today. Then it hits me...isn't it the tongue that can get us into so much trouble in life or can be such a blessing. With it we either tear down and destroy, or we build up and encourage.

Decided to use this fact that my tongue demands my attention and some effort to get it to back off from it's tense routine of working itself against my teeth as a means for remembering how important it is to gain control of my tongue in other ways.

Proverbs 18:21 The tongue has the power of life and death
Proverbs 15:4 The tongue that brings healing is a tree of life, but a deceitful tongue crushes the spirit.
Proverbs 25:11 A word aptly spoken is like apples of gold in settings of silver
James 1:26 If anyone considers himself religious and yet does not keep a tight rein on his tongue, he deceives himself and his religion is worthless.

Well, there ya' go. Redirected some of that energy into inspiring and encouraging. You see, I have the privilege of going into the homes of the very ill at least a few times a week. I assist them in planning care that will help them to stay at home instead of going into nursing homes. This is what I do when I'm not caring for the Cottage. It used to totally overwhelm me to see people's lives seemingly crumble before my eyes. So much pain and discouragement. Sometimes getting physically ill myself at the helpless feeling.

I'm learning, though, to let go of the fear and the cynicism about life and speak words, true words, of hope. I've really come to believe that every single minute counts. Those who are sitting in their home, learning to patiently endure and even find hope for the future are no less living than those who are on a cruise and have forgotten to stop and speak a kind word to a little girl sulking in the corner. Everywhere we are, we have a choice. We are able to use our tongue to build up or destroy. The more we practice, the easier it gets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.