Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Suzuki Swift

So, the day of the MOT dawned, and instead of going swimming or coming home and starting the day, I spent the morning driving around to the garage and getting bits together for the car.

This is the courtesy car I've been lent this year while mine is being attended to! It's exceeding new, exceedingly unrattley, and when I got into it, it blew cold air at me! Mine is very old, rattley, and doesn't make the air cold (except when I open the windows in winter)!

There have been several phonecalls today to do with cars and finance. Just getting it through the MOT is going to cost about double my total monthly income, which is a bit of a problem. Fortunately, I have offers of cakes with files baked into them for when I get sent to debtors' prison! ;-)

And the MOT is not the end of the story. The oil sump is rusted through, so I have to spend some more money on it in the very near future. This year, we're right on the cusp of needing a new car - such a balancing act - is it better to keep paying to keep this one on the road or should we get a "new" (not really new, we could never afford a brand new one) one?

Living without a car isn't really possible here, so we have to have one of some description!

Oh dear!

I looked enviously at Charlie and Moses this morning. I so wish I could get up, be cuddled and stroked and spoken to gently, be given potato treats and chocolate drops, and then snuggle up for the morning with my best friend! No worrying about cars, or money, or assignments, or flying ants, or washing machines, or cats weeing for them!

It's been an odd sort of an "unsettled" day, waiting for phone calls etc. However, I have managed to fill in my application form for the CELTA course I hope to do in the autumn, which will, I hope, lead me back into work, and what's more, work I can actually do long term without my health collapsing again!

I also communicated by e-mail a few times with my tutor - who has granted me a one week extension on the maths assignment, which is good news because I'm confident I can get it done in that time and actually enjoy it too!

I also entered the world of Google Plus, thanks to an invitation from a friend, so I've spent a little time learning how that works!

Right, time to go and collect the car!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.