A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Time

This is the Bradford and Bingley Building that has been abandoned for the last 18 months since the collapse of the bank.
This is also the picture I took immediately before losing my last camera. Today was deja vu as I did exactly the same things, went to the bank and then the co-op but this time, thankfully, I still have my camera.

Why take this - well it is the remnant of a past institution that used to mean a lot to our community and it will soon be pulled down to make way for a supermarket. If we went to a branch anywhere in the country they would comment on our pass book coming from head office. It put Bingley on the map and and in time past was a source of pride.

As I took the picture a women behind me said it was a hideous building and should be blown up. It had a lot of similar comments over the years but I for one will be rather sad to see it go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.