A Wave On The Ocean

By Bensholto

Two things.

LARGE

The first thing is yesterday's blip....I don't know what's happened to it.

I uploaded it last night, just about the time the site went 'pop' and that's why all that could be seen was....well, bugger all.

So I got in touch with Blip central and they suggested I edit the entry and upload it again, which I did. As I'd decided to edit and process it using GIMP (kind of like a free version of Photoshop), somewhere along the way the photo lost its exif data.

As there was no exif data, the photo was awaiting moderation, which is fair enough, but then it disappeared from moderation and hasn?t appeared on my journal.

Fair enough, why not just post something else that has the proper exif data? Because my blip count is showing one more than I have actually posted. So I?ve emailed Blip central again to see if they can sort all this out for me.

EDIT: Anyway, now I've been able to upload it, two days later.

The second thing: today's blip.

This sculpture is linked to a series of sculptures on Salford Quays, remembering when Salford Quays were Manchester Docks.

My intention is to blip each sculpture; that was the plan for yesterday's blip.

Dock Nine was the largest of the docks. Since Salford Quays came into being, Dock Nine has generally been known as Erie Basin. It?s no longer completely open to Manchester Ship Canal; the water has been regularly cleaned over the years. It was the starting point for The Big Swim a few months ago, that took place on the same weekend as the Great Manchester Run. There are organised swimming events in there once a week at present. If I was actually a decent swimmer, I might think about having a go.

You can read more about Dock Nine here:Dock Nine.

I work at the far end of Dock Nine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.