In Between Days

By jase

South Yorkshire Road Transport

As I opened the book I was reading at lunchtime, out dropped a bus ticket. Now I often use bus tickets as book marks or drop them in my bag so assumed it was one of mine which had crept in there. Then I noticed it was a South Yorkshire Buses ticket, a bus company which was based in Pontefract (West Yorkshire!) and all through my growing up ran the bus which went to Leeds. It has since been swallowed up by the big bus company Arriva. As this is one of L's old books I can only assume that she was reading the book soon after buying the ticket at 7:28 on the 2nd of January 1998. In some ways I think that it is not that long ago but then I realise it's 13 years ago...before kids and marriage and mortgages took over. I wonder where she was going? Work probably but where was work? I have a bad memory, maybe I should ask!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.