In Between Days

By jase

Spuds

I think I want some more cycle shoes. I think they look worn enough and I've always thought there were a more comfortable pair out there somewhere!

Cycled in today - so tired this evening! It is a sign that I need to do it more often. My cycling shoes are on the mat wondering if they will be called on tomorrow.

A boring bit - SPD stands for Shimano Pedaling Dynamics but people never say that. They call them SPDs or spuds. So, SPD shoes have cleats on the bottom which clip into SPD pedals. They are generally used by the mountain biking world but I use them on my road bike. One reason is that the pedals are dual sided so you can 'clip in' easily e.g. when moving off at traffic lights. Another reason is that you can walk on them - road bike systems tend to mean you can't walk with the shoe as the cleat stands proud. SPD cleats sit in a recess so you can walk a bit - although I wouldnt want to walk far! Why use them and not just flat pedals? Well your feet are held in place and don't slip and you can pedal by pulling back and up as well as down. Can be embarrassing when you can't unclip in time which I have done on two occasions, both at about 1 mph and both very embarrassing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.