Every photo tells a story

By 5strings1

"Asiatic" Lily

This is labelled Asiatic Lily, and I have noticed a few similar looking ones being blipped. I have been told that this pollen can stain fabric really badly, I must admit there is a lot, you can see some on one of the petals. I think that white lilies have a rather funereal look, a little like the chrysanthemums that my dad used to grow and sell. It seemed to be that ladies of a certain age would have a bunch of white or yellow chrysants in their front parlours. The best flowers come into bloom when the nights are getting a little longer, and my dad used to bring in some of his plants into the greenhouse to protect them from the worst of the frost, with perhaps a small parrafin heater to help.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.