The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Limbering Up For The Insect Olympics

After all the excitement of "1yr To Go!" for the Olympics yesterday, the pedant in me feels that I should point out, that due to it being a leap year next year, it is in fact, 365 days to go until the opening ceremony from today!

Talking of leap years, and things that can leap. This little chap was limbering up for the long jump at next summers insect Olympics. I suspect that grasshoppers would do rather well in that event.

Grasshoppers are another one of those insects that take me back to my childhood. We would go up to the local quarry and try to catch them in jam jars, they were nearly always too quick. Fantastic little insects. He was chirping away on that log too, it was impossible to get a shot of that, it was so quick.

I actually thought that this one was a better macro, as I switched to the Sigma lens, but quite liked the action in the one I chose.

More of my garden macros can be found in my Garden Macro flickr set.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.