Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

What???

"You want me to WHAT?"

Aunt Dede is lovingly explaining to Tristan that he will not be going into the wonderful indoor playground at Chick-fil-A if he does not eat his lunch.

He could care less about food, and even more so when there is a playground within running distance. So it took lots of negotiating, sweet talk, bribing, and just plain fast talk to out wit this 4-year-old and convince him that he was not in control of this moment and the decision regarding the playground hinged on his eating ability.

Tristan is Aunt Dede's great-nephew, but to see them functioning together, you'd think she is his grandmother. She treats him like her own. Buys him all kinds of clothing, an occasional toy, and smothers him in quality attention.

I thoroughly enjoyed sitting across the table from them this noontime. I had my granddaughter, who is Dede's daughter, Ashly, sitting next to me, so the four of us enjoyed the mid-day meal and savored these last moments with Tristan before he goes home this coming Monday morning with his mommy, Desiree.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol (Tristan's great-grandma)

P.S. Our days are currently so full with the activities of Tristan and family that I have been blipping a day late. Not sure I'll ever get caught-up, but I'll keep trying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.