Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

Tool Library

I swung by the Tool Library this evening to return a heat gun and some hole saws. This operation is, in American parlance, the "best thing since sliced bread." For a small annual membership fee, I borrow any tools I need for a week at a time. I've already gotten plenty of work done with library tools since signing on this past winter, and it seems to be a general success, because they recently moved to a much larger venue as you see it here. This and similar projects have been attempted before in the vicinity (I recall a membership woodworking shop), but they've never lasted this long.

This is a terrific idea because the difference between a carpenter or mechanic, and a guy who knows how things work but can't fix them, is tools. I have a decent set of tools but this library brings me forward by leaps and bounds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.