Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

The Gate Keeper

A few months ago I blipped a nearby pocket garden, which is enclosed by perhaps a dozen back yards and has been fixed up a little by the rectangle of neighbors. I passed by that way this afternoon and entered through the one narrow alley that provides access. In the high heat and humidity, the garden was empty of humans save for me, but one resident stepped forward to inspect my credentials before admitting me to the leafy space. Just at the spot where alley ends and garden begins, she spoke a few sounds and asked for a little scratch. In exchange she crawled up and clutched me, checking the smell of me and giving her approval. Then she gave me a short tour of the grounds, which were more overgrown than I expected. I forgot to as her name, but I'll learn that next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.